read some of our clients comments

Customer Reviews

You can also find reviews/comments on our recently created Trip Advisor account and on Facebook.

One of our customers, Naomi Baum has added her experience at the following blogpost: https://slowtravelsblog.wordpress.com/


October 2016 Had a fabulous time exploring the beautiful Catalonian countryside on your wonderful comfortable bikes! Thank you Alan Vivian and Mare for such a memorable holiday, loved staying in the townhouse and enjoyed the amenities of the old village of Calonge, the great beaches and cycle paths, hope to come back soon!
Slainte

Margaret and Chris Ullapool Scotland.

Sept 2016 Great holiday! We had a fab time cycling around and getting to know this part of Catalonia. Every aspect of the tour surpassed our expectations.

Thank you, Gemma, Nick, Alex and Martin.

August 2016
Many thanks for a fantastic holiday. The accommodation was just perfect and the bikes were great too.
Nothing quite beats jumping into the sea after a long cycle!

The Kingstons Cork Ireland.


July 2016.
We couldn't have been made more comfortable here. Every attention to detail was taken care of. The colours of this sun filled home wanted me to get my paints out to record the inspiration. The cycling was incredible, just the right amount to get us all to gain confidence and we will never forget the wonderful views, stone walls and castles, our sore muscles then lovely swims in the sea after our day in the saddle.
Thank you Vivian and Alan, would love to come back one day!

Susan, Wayne, Thomas Joseph and Daniel Mudge Somerset West South Africa.

May 2016.
What a wonderful, wonderful time we've had! Safe to say Team Ammar is not going to win the Tour de France anytime soon....... Couldn't ask for friendlier or more obliging hosts. Highlights? Calella de Palafrugell and the pretty medieval villages....Mostafa

The Ammar Family Timaru NZ.

April 2016
Thank you for a wonderful adventure! We are so grateful for your patience with our planning, special requests and especially the last minute dash to the station the weekend left us dazzled with the area but craving more - I hope we can return someday for a more thorough exploration.
You crafted an excellent vacation and we are all so happy.

Kathy Michael Tess Larkin

Another wonderful walking experience. For the second year in a row Cycle Catalan have provided for our group a wonderful walking holiday. Fabulous walks, excellent hotels and lovely food combined with personal attention from Vivian and Alan Campbell made our experience exciting and memorable. Highly recommended!

Malcolm, Glasgow, May 2015

We did Cycle Catalan's 'Barcelona and Beyond' tour in mid April and thoroughly enjoyed our time in Barcelona and Empurda. Alan provided us with everything we needed to allow us to explore this unspoilt area of Spain. This is our third cycling holiday - and we're by no means particularly fit or experienced cyclists - and what we look for are itineraries that are heavy on places of interest but fairly light on demanding peddling. And we also like to be put up in nice hotels. Alan's itinerary fitted the bill perfectly in terms of the first criterion: we visited vineyards, art galleries, mediaeval towns, ancient ruins, scenic coastal paths ... and managed to fit in a fair few really good restaurants. And all three hotels on the tour were good. If I'm honest, though, the cycling was not quite as easy going as we'd have liked! But this says more about us and our lack of fitness than it does about Alan's tour. We also thoroughly enjoyed our time in Barcelona and particularly the Fat Tyre Bike Tour that Alan included in the price of our holiday. All in all, we'd thoroughly recommend.

Pat, Hertfordshire, UK, May 2015

The accommodation was lovely and of a high standard. Mare and Alan were very helpful. We saw beautiful parts of Spain on the Cycle & Chill trip. Loved it. Thanks and best wishes to you all.

Maureen Powell, Scotland, June 2015
Cycle and Chill, great holiday with helpful staff


Some people adore the heat but cycling in Spain in high summer to us would be akin to cycling in hell with a raging case of chicken pox, bandaged in coarse wool underwear, and layered in a three piece polyester suit. Give us the autumn's perfect days and deliciously cool nights. Fortunately Cycle Catalan self guided tours run until 31st October. The tour concentrates on exploring the area just south of the Pyrenees in a strip of plain between the sea and the mountains. The area is full of cycling paths and small roads that make up the Baix Emporda network in the heart of Catalonia and Cycle Catalan puts it all together for you.It's also possible to extend your vacation to visit Barcelona and Girona.

Rick Cropp and Barbara Braidwood, The Province, Vancouver, Canada
Cycling tours that keep your cool


Many thanks for making our holiday so enjoyable in the beautiful Catalan countryside. We all enjoyed every minute of the trip, it was ideal for all the family as we all enjoyed the cycling and the food. The weather was great too, just the right temperature for cycling. We loved staying at the different hotels which were very comfortable and had good food. The wayside flowers were beautiful, such a show of colour. Thank you both for an excellent trip.

The Newton family, Tony, Dorothy, Ruth and Helen - UK 2012
Cycling for food and wine lovers tour


We loved the experience of cycling through ancient stone villages with not a soul in sight, then finding our way in to the main square to find bustling cafes doing a brisk trade in tapas and wine! The operators are very happy to be flexible to tailor make your trip for your needs. From our first contact with them online to organising our final transfer back to the airport they could not have been more helpful or solicitous. As a mother and daughter living on opposite sides of the world this trip was perfect for us. Instead of using our precious reunion time battling cities, we enjoyed a stress free experience cruising along country lanes, swimming in turquoise seas and walking to local restaurants at night. Perfect!

Christine Didsbury - New Zealand Septmeber 2012
Medieval Villages and Coastal Paths Tour


The most thrilling aspect of the holiday was the beauty of the Catalan countryside. The eccentric brilliance of the jam museum was as much of a surprise as the curiosities of Salvador Dali’s Castel Gala-Dali. The cycling is not too strenuous, even my 14 year old son didn’t moan too much about the heat! Both hotels are really special. The first is a simple friendly traditional Catalan farmhouse in a very quiet village. The second is a five minute walk from four lovely beaches and has a beautiful terrace where you can sit underneath the pine trees. The cycle tour hosts were great too, lots of good information
and tips, always there if you need them. A wonderful relaxing holiday.

Annie Warburton - UK August 2012
Medieval Villages and Coastal Paths Tour

Vivian and Alan are great hosts and have made an excellent tour in every way. I will recommend it to all my friends.


Kristen Rygg Bergin - Norway July 2012
Medieval Villages and Coastal Paths

This was one of our most memorable vacations ever. The landscape, the medieval towns, the Iberian and Greco-Roman ruins and the food! We liked the Emporda and loved the Duran in Figueres. The service and the food in the restaurant was outstanding. The biking tour of Barcelona was a hoot. I felt like a twelve year old kid on my Schwinn bike! The Picasso tour was worth it for getting in to the museum without having to wait. Loved all the tips you gave us and have savoured the locally grown ‘arros a pals’ (took home 3 kilos!)

Lew and Lois Barr - Chicago USA June 2012
Barcelona and Beyond Bike Tour


We have just returned from a beautiful hike on the Spanish Riviera in early May. We had a wonderful time both on this tour and in Barcelona. We even enjoyed a little salsa dancing in Begur!

Don Song - USA May 2012
Between the land and the sea walking tour

The most memorable part of our holiday was cycling for hours with our daughters aged 9 and 10. They were captivated by the scenery and simple scenes and gained a sense of pride as a result of their efforts. The other thing that sticks out is the warm welcome we received from the tour operator and from the owners of the hotels where we stayed.

Richard Coughlin - USA April 2012
Medieval Villages and Coastal Paths

There is so much to remember about this holiday; we really enjoyed the mixed scenery of forest, countryside and coast. We loved being able to have an active holiday that the whole family enjoyed. It was exciting discovering tiny old Spanish villages packed with charm and yummy tapas!

Victoria Doody - Paris, France April 2012
Medieval Villages and Coastal Paths Tour


It was so relaxing cycling around the beautiful Catalan countryside, through little old villages, it was a great place to cycle with the family off road. There was something for each of us, so we all enjoyed it together a combination of experiencing the language, the food and the landscape and spending time at the sea. Medieval Villages and Coastal Paths Tour.

Anderson Family - Scotland October 2011
Medieval Villages and Coastal Paths Tour



Thank you very much for a fantastic holiday. We’ve had a wonderful time. Great cycling route starting in the foothills of the Pyrenees and ending up at the coast. Excellent hotels and great recommendations for eating, drinking and beaches.


Karen and Michael Cambridge 2011
Mountains Countryside and Sea tour


We loved the flexibility of this trip as we wanted to do more kilometres than the proposed itinerary. Alan and Vivian were happy to tailor the trip to our needs and always ready to offer advice and ideas. We stayed in some great small hotels in some stunning settings run by the owners who were really committed to making our holiday special.

Bennet Summers London August 2011
Mountains Countryside and Sea tour


Alan and Vivian, I want to thank you both for all the time and care you took preparing for, and supporting us on our cycling holiday. We had such a wonderful time and so many highlights. For me the cycling day to the artisan olive producer, Can Solivera and Pubol castle, the boys loved the
kayaking and snorkelling and we all really enjoyed our tapas evening in Palamos. Your choice of the Hotel Mas for us as a family was perfect, we enjoyed the extra space in the self contained annexe. The setting was perfect and very peaceful, yet within walking distance to the centre of Calonge's market, shops and restaurants and only a 15 minute cycle to the beach. All of this contributing to a holiday that was so easy to enjoy from the first minute to the last.

Gill Harwood - Qatar July 2011
Cycling in Catalonia

One of the best holidays I have had. Alan and Vivian were terrific in supplying what we needed at the start, gave us terrific bikes and maps and suggestions based on their great local knowledge. One of the highlights of the tour was cycling to Castell Pubol the home of Gala created by Dali - what a gem of a place.

Jan Halliday New Zealand July 2011
Cycling in Catalonia tour


The most memorable part of our holiday was the breathtaking beauty of the Costa Brava countryside. Vivian and Alan gave us wonderful local suggestions to purchase indigenous products, it was great fun to visit a local vineyard. All of our accommodation was wonderful. Vivian and Alan helped with so many details above and beyond our bike tour making the experience so enjoyable and rich.

Linda Sherwood New Mexico May 2011
Cycling in Catalonia tour


Thank you so much for the best time. We have enjoyed everything so much. All the hotels have been great, lovely food and EXCELLENT biking! A fantastic travel experience on two wheels.


Trine and Marten Denmark April 2011
Small private tour for family and friends celebrating a special birthday.


Alan was very helpful and accommodating during our entire vacation. It was a wonderful experience, food and memories to last a lifetime. I am planning my next trip now!

Mark Edwards Germany April 2011
Cycling for food and wine lovers tour

"Thank you for organising our honeymoon trip. We absolutely loved the cosy suite at the top of the castle and the great bike trails. A great relief from New York!"

Naomi and Sage Ramadge
Brooklyn, New York
29/10/10

"Thanks for making our trip to Catalonia so special, we have had a great family holiday, thoroughly enjoyed by all"

Sandy and Family
Fife, Scotland
28/10/10


"Many thanks for a fantastic trip. It was so well organised, even we couldn’t get lost. You went above and beyond to ensure everything was in order, hotel reservations, restaurant bookings, routes, visits to local producers, exceeded our expectations. Thanks again"

Matt and Ashling Swirtz
Queenstown, New Zealand
22/10/10


"Thanks for organising such a wonderful week- it has been fantastic! From your super welcome and hospitality to the varied landscapes of our trip, everything has exceeded expectations. Alan we would come back to enjoy one of your dinners on it’s own, a real highlight"

Gregor and John Strathdon
Scotland
12/9/10

"A wonderful peaceful tranquil holiday, the welcome received was so warm and generous, nothing too much trouble, a great experience"

Paul and Jennifer Robinson
Brighton
9/9/10


"We loved Catalonia and the bikes were a great way to see it. We have really appreciated all the extras, the careful attention to detail, amazing food and above all the great introduction to a cycling holiday en famille. I have been inspired to get cycling in London.Thank you so much"

Naomi, Saul, Isaac and Natasha
London
28/8/10

"This has been a great cycling area, and one of our best holidays - Vivian and Alan, Muchas Gracias! "

Katie Griffiths and Chris Wells
23/8/10



"Thank you for a wonderful cycling holiday, full of generosity, beauty and thoughtfulness"

Alison, Marc, Hal and Vida
22/8/10


"We have had a fantastic family holiday. The cycling has been great fun and not too difficult, accommodation and food first class. You have been excellent hosts making us very welcome and introducing us to this beautiful area always ensuring that we had routes and maps for each day. We will certainly be recommending this holiday to all our friends"

Tim, Krista, Dominic and Ella.
Hinstock Shropshire
16/8/10


"We are here on our “luna de miel” honeymoon. We had a fabulous time! Very romantic, lovely hotels, yummy food. Vivian and Alan are wonderful hosts. We look forward to coming back to see more of Catalonia"

Courtney/Bill Betts
Boston USA
10/8/10


"We have had a great time and thank you Vivian and Alan for ensuring that our itinerary went smoothly including our half day cycle tour in Barcelona. Food, accommodation beyond our expectations, we will certainly be recommending you to our friends!"

Amanda, Jim and Adam
Great Bentley
14/8/10


"Wow! What a fantastic place, great cycling, miles of well sign posted paths through beautiful countryside. Vivian and Alan couldn’t be more helpful and kind. We’ll be back"

Sally-Ann, Henry and Georgia Betts
Moreton on Marsh
3/8/10


"Vivian and Alan, we’ve had a delightful time, your knowledge of the area has been indispensible and has allowed us to maximise our time here, the great cycling, the tastes, sights, sounds, heat, but the most memorable your friendly helpfulness"

Ian and Helen McConnichie
Ottowa Canada
7/7/10


"Dear Vivian and Alan, Thank you so much for a spectacular introduction to Catalonia. Everything was perfect, your warm welcome, helpful guidance about the area, recommendations about villages, restaurants, cycling routes. We have thoroughly enjoyed our vacation and it has been such a pleasure meeting you both. We will recommend you to all our friends and family"

Barbara Stackhouse & David Wilson
Vancouver BC.
17/6/10


"Thank you for a lovely visit and the excellent cycling route suggestions. Every day was a different treat and I look forward to coming back and seeing more of Catalonia"

Thea Agape V Lim
Jerusalem
18/5/10


"A big thank you to Vivian and Alan who run Cycle Catalan, for their knowledgeable insight into the area and warm welcome. Loved the area, especially Pals and the Empuries ruins. Great time on the bikes, even a bit of rain on one of the days didn’t spoil our fun. Thank you and all the best for the future business"

Richard and Maria Ennis
West Yorkshire
17/5/10


"We had such a wonderful time. Couldn’t have asked for better weather. Great bike trails, delicious food, picturesque medieval villages. Thanks for everything, we will be recommending Cycle Catalan to all our cycling friends"

Greg and Kay Litton
Holladay, Utah, USA
4/19/10


"A wonderful place and the perfect hosts. The cycling was fantastic and it feels like we have seen so much of Catalonia, but can’t wait to come back and see more! We will be recommending everything the cycling routes the villages, the great food- thanks for making this a truly memorable holiday"

Catriona and Drew
Glasgow
4/4/10

 
 
   

Bike tour holidays based in Catalunya | Cycle holiday itineraries | About our cycling holidays | Bike holiday prices and special offers | Data Protection
Booking a Costa Brava bike tour vacation | Contact cycle catalan bike holidays | Catalunya photogallery | Visitors comments | How to find our spanish holiday tours

Webdesign
© CML Webservices Ltd